Turning the Page

Today is October 16th. I realized this today and the thought nearly knocked me down. October 16th means that Labor Day has come and gone. The anniversary of my stroke has passed. It tiptoed past me without a sound. And I didn’t notice.

Labor Day has held so much meaning to me by reminding me what I’ve experienced, what I’ve overcome, the person I’ve become. It takes me back to when my life was so dramatically changed and I’ve used it as an opportunity to reflect.

But I missed it this year. For the best reason ever.

This year around Labor Day I was preparing to have some extensive oral surgery that would make a huge difference in my life. I was scared and nervous and excited. I was also a little anxious about the 20th high school reunion that was approaching. I wondered if I would be healed enough from the surgery to go to the reunion and actually talk to people. I was spinning in a whirlwind of emotions. About the future.

I didn’t notice the anniversary of my past because I was looking ahead.

And I didn’t do it as a part of some plan to self-actualize or heal from within. It just happened. Naturally.

This doesn’t mean I’m not still proud of how far I’ve come or that I won’t still reflect on the trek. I think I will still look back on the journey. I think, though, that I am more focused on the wonderful things scattered about on the road ahead.

Leave a Reply

