Courage, Hypocrisy, & Focus – Oh My!

Something has been bothering me since I posted my last message. Two things, actually.

First, I am aware of the hypocrisy of my advice to my coworker. I told her that the courageous thing to do would be to be honest with her friend. But I am not completely honest with her daily.

In this rare case, I am a hypocrite by choice. (Usually the hypocrisy is purely accidental.) I would like to be honest with her and have been tempted several times to tell her what is on my mind.

However, I am pretty sure her reaction would not be positive. And we have to work together so I’ve held back. Rather than courageously telling her the truth, I make the choice to keep the environment friendly, and, thus, become a hypocrite.

The second thing is the one that is really eating away at me.  The more I think about the negativity I’ve expressed about this coworker, the more I realize that I’m focusing on the bad things. Granted, it’s not hard to do that as she offers many undesirable characteristics to focus on. This, however, is not the person I want to be.

I mean what if everyone in the world only focused on the negative characteristics of the people around them? What a terrible place this world would be!

And I would hate to think that anyone saw only my less than desirable traits.

I need to focus on the positive qualities she has. I don’t believe that this will make her negative qualities disappear but perhaps there will be more of a balance.

And I don’t need to limit it to just her. I need to make more of an effort to focus on the positive qualities everyone has to offer.

That would be a change I would like to see in the world.

One thought on “Courage, Hypocrisy, & Focus – Oh My!

  1. Human nature dictates that we look for the weaknesses in others, then seek to exploit them. It’s not pretty, but it’s a part of the survival instinct. That doesn’t mean, of course, that we have to give in to it…because you’re right – the world would be an even more awful, violent place if that’s how everyone thought.

    But please be gentle with yourself love, and be assured you are one of the most loving, accepting, patient, and amazing people I know. The fact that you’re even suffering due to the way things are tells you that you are all these things. Personally, I am proud to know you, and you are an inspiration to me. All my love to you and Paige…

    Jeni

Leave a Reply

